97th Bacardi Cup

Since its inception in 1927, the Bacardi Cup has proved massively popular and swiftly became an iconic event that sailors dreamt of competing at and set their eyes on winning. The thrill of standing atop the podium and sipping the smooth Bacardi rum from the winner’s trophy has become a lifelong mission for many.

Despite the event’s relaxed atmosphere and nostalgia, staking your place on the Bacardi Cup leader board remains as competitive as ever and the challenge for victory is as tough as the first edition back in 1927. The 97th Bacardi Cup will be contested from 3-9 March, 2024

Conceived in 1927 as a three-day event with boats competing for the Trofeo BACARDI, over the years The Bacardi Cup has grown significantly whilst steadfastly retaining its profile as one of sailing’s pinnacle events which is interwoven with history of sailing. The move from Havana to Miami in 1962 due to political unrest was undertaken with the backing of the Bacardi family and the transition was part of the phenomenal sailing legacy of the USA’s James ‘Ding’ Schoonmaker and Frank Zagarino.

Honoring its history, the event remains firmly loyal to the initial concept of an event for all, with the sport’s Olympic medallists, World Champions and legends on the same starting line as talented enthusiasts and weekend warriors. We are proud of our heritage as one of the few headline events where you don’t have to be a world beater to compete and everyone is welcome to come and race. Equally the tough slog of one race a day remains true to the heritage of the Star Class and no weight limit ensures The Bacardi Cup is easily accessible to all crew combinations.

Thrilling by nature, the Bacardi Cup guarantees passion, drama and world class sport in the revered Star Class. Over its unique history, it has provided many incredible moments and unforgettable memories, making the Bacardi Cup one of the world’s most renowned events.

The undisputed king of The Bacardi Cup is Ding Schoonmaker who racked up eight victories, seven as helm and one as crew, across 1951, 1953, 1964, 1970, 1971,1974, 1976 and 1977. In more recent years, Mark Reynolds challenged Schoonmaker’s record, but still has one to catch up after claiming seven wins in 1984, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1997, 1998 and 2002.

Since 1927, forty-six different skippers have claimed the elusive Bacardi Cup crown. The Bacardi Cup is simply fantastic racing, outstanding Bacardi hospitality and an event where lifetime friendships are sealed – all packaged into a thrilling and unforgettable experience.


VISIT THE BACARDI CUP WEBSITE → www.bacardicup.com